LEGO City Light Repair Truck (60054)

After months of unsuccessfully trying to get my son to choose this set as the item he would purchase with his allowance, I finally had to break down and pick it up myself. Two considerations drove me. First, it is an nice little set that will be fun to use in photos of building larger scale sets or MOCs, and second, buying it means that I have a complete set of this year’s City vehicles.

Build Review
The Light Repair Truck set comes in a single bag with one instructional booklet. It goes together quite easily and quickly, and although it is a smaller build, it does have some very interesting elements.

Truck and Light

Truck and Light

I know the official name of this set is Light Repair Truck, but I think I am going to call it the Mullet Truck, because it is all business up front and all party in the back.

Business up front, Party in the back.

Business up front, Party in the back.

The most interesting part of this vehicle is the working cradle with some great Technic elements and a hard-to-find basket element. Not only are you able to work all around the truck at multiple heights, the cradle assembly also folds up nicely in the back for transport.

Hope you are not afraid of heights.

Hope you are not afraid of heights.

If the devil is in the details, then this set has an element of evil. A pair of pylons and street light/traffic light — both of them well built and clever — really give you that working feel in this set.

Can I get a lift down.

“Can I get a lift down?”

Kit Ratings
** Playability: 3 out of 5 bricks. Who has not dreamed of getting a lift on the back of a truck like this and dropping water balloons an people walking by? Yeah me neither: what kinda person would do that!? Anyway, in a small set there is lots of room for creativity. You can drive the truck around, look for things to fix in your house, or use it as a tool to help you pretend to build other sets.

** Minifigures: 2 out of 5 bricks. At a ratio of 1:94 it is not unexpected that you only get one minifig, and I think the chance of a second was sacrificed in favour of the play elements in the light. The lower than average rating really comes from the generic pieces used: the head of the minifig is its rarest element, and it’s found in 13 other sets.

** Brick Value: 3 out of 5 bricks. If you have read many of our other reviews you know that I really like these smaller box sets. Their low cost and playability make them a great way to introduce someone to the fun of LEGO. This kit keeps that feeling alive. At $12.99 in our market, it has a value of $0.14 an element, which won’t break the bank.

** Overall Rating: 8 bricks out of 15. I am really glad that I picked this kit up. It was fun to build, and I had some fun taking the photos and playing with it. As a side benefit, it came in the same orange as the Arctic Sets I have been collecting, so I can se3 some reuse of the elements.

Leave a Reply

