LEGO DC Heroes Batman: The Riddler Chase (76012)

Want to see me pick up this set really fast? Want to see it again? I must have picked this set up every time I saw it over the last few months, but something always made me put it back. This is surprising, because I am a fan of comics and even a fan of Batman. Of all of Batman’s villains, I love Jim Carrey’s version of the Riddler the best, so why did it take my son telling me that he wanted a Batmobile for me to finally buy this set? It is a mystery to me.
To the Bat Build, Robin!

A Fast, Funny, and Brooding person walk into a bar.

A fast, funny, and brooding person walk into a bar together…

Build Review
This set comes with two bags of pieces and two instructional booklets. Each instructs you to build a vehicle and the corresponding minfigs.

Who is going to get there first?

Who is going to get there first?

 

First is the Riddler’s get-a-way car. Though pretty simple construction it has a wonderfully detailed engine that looks great contrasted against the green elements. Check it out in the photo below.
Riddler's Get-a-way

 

The designers clearly had a great time with this one.

Think fast, Flash?

Think fast, Flash!

Bags full of money and a bomb at the back that deploys when you do a wheelie all add to the playability of an already playable piece.

IMG_0673

Next comes the Batmobile. As you would expect, it is all black (with some very dark grey), but it still brings the bling with those rims.

Everyone dreams of driving one of these.

Everyone dreams of driving one of these.

Back of Batmobile.

Tucked into the trunk is a pair of missiles ready to take down whatever gets in “The Bat’s” way.

I did mention my son had been playing with it. Later found that missing missile under the kitchen table.

I did mention my son had been playing with it, right? I later found that missing missile under the kitchen table.

 

Kit Ratings
** Playability: 5 out of 5 bricks. Lets add it up: Batmobile, Riddler’s get away dragster, hidden flick missiles, bomb deployed by doing a wheelie, Flash, and the bat-a-rang. This has hours of play possibilities even before you start using your imagination. Putting this set in the hands of my 6 year old nearly blew his mind.

** Minifigures: 5 out of 5 bricks. This set’s minifig to brick ratio (1:101) is better than average for for most DC sets, which earns an above average rating. But wait, there’s more. Both Riddler and Flash were unique to this set at the time of its release (Flash now appears in a 2015 set — 76026: Gorilla Grodd Goes Bananas), and Batman’s torso is available only in this set, and you see Batman every where now. I think he might be included in a Friends set soon. If I could, I would give this set a 6 out of 5.

** Brick Value: 3 out of 5 bricks. At $0.13 a brick, this set meets the average for this theme. The only really special piece is the Gold Crowbar that is seen in only one other set. Maybe this is the answer to my original question at the start of this article! When taken at face value this kit always struck me as over priced, but when you look deep, it is a Must Have.

My Sheldon impression.

My Sheldon impression. Bazinga!!!

Na Na Na Na Na Batman!

Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na, Batman!

** Overall Rating: 13 bricks out of 15. Something tells me that this is going to be one of those sets that, the minute it’s retired, everybody realizes they wanted. It has a lot going for it and is available at retail outlets at a reasonable price. Still, I don’t see it in a lot of hands when I am at the LEGO store (and I am there a lot). So, don’t miss out on it; I almost did.

Leave a Reply

