LEGO DC Comics Super Heroes Gorilla Grodd Goes Bananas (76026)

** This review introduces a new member of the Brick Radar team, ecmaccallum! **

Hello Brick Radar fans!!

While the guys are busily coding away at the new website I thought that I would take it upon myself and write up a review for all you review hungry fans. About mid-day today, I was sitting here in my LEGO studio and caught myself thinking of gorillas, which I often do. When I receive a commission or a contract to design something, the first thought in my head is how I can include some sort of primate into the build. Since today was my email day I thought, “maybe I’ll just let LEGO do all the heavy lifting here” and headed down to the local Toys ‘R’ Us. Since seeing the set in the LEGO catalog that was delivered to my neighbor’s house and returned to me a week later with an apologetic, “I’m sorry it’s wet”, I have wanted to build set #76026, which Google informed me is actually called Gorilla Grodd Goes Bananas.

Primates, Mechs, Planes, and Cars!

Primates, Mechs, Planes, and Rickshaws!

THIS IS A GREAT SET… sorta. Please keep in mind that while building this set I was quite shaky from the grande caramel macchiato and distracted at many moments by an episode of Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee.

First things first, once I saw the Gorilla, I had to have this set. I most often crave sets for A: their replayability or B: the awesome elements I can get in the set to make something way more fun to play with than what came in the box. This set fills both categories A and B. I enjoyed building this set and although some of the steps barely held together, the final build was very sturdy and ready for play. It goes without saying that I love the Gorilla and will be using him with many of my Legends of Chima builds.

With that out of the way, I am very excited to have a banana carrying rickshaw in my collection, and I intend to relocate it to the streets in front of my modular building collection: perhaps in front of the green grocer. This little vehicle has already inspired many ideas and I can’t wait to dig in and start adding my own builds around it. (And it goes without saying that these are some of the pieces used for Bluth’s Original Frozen Banana Stand seen here at Bruce Lowell.com. While you’re there check out the rest of his works; it’ll be the most amazing MOC site you’ve ever seen.) One let down for me was the fact that if I wanted the driver to hold the handlebars inside the vehicle his head would knock the roof off. But let’s be honest, if it were my job to drive a Banana Co. rickshaw around all day, I’d do it with my hands in the air.

Wonderwoman’s invisible jet. This is a great model: very stable, very swooshable! The parts added to make this vehicle are fantastic. Most of the pieces used in this set are transparent, but not all. Regardless, it looks great and Wonderwoman fits nicely inside. Downside, the invisible jet includes the spring missiles that have kept my wife and me up late many a night with me apologizing while she cries into a bag of frozen peas.

So I was wondering, “what is up with all these great superheros in one box?”. In this set you get Gorilla Grodd, Batman, Wonderwoman, Captain Cold, The Flash, and the best fig yet, a Banana Co. employee!

…and then I built Batman’s mech, vehicle, thing. Sure, it’s stable and has some great elements but seriously, this model looks like a last minute add on and is most likely the reason why LEGO has added an extra apologetic minifig or two to this set. I know, I know, the set is for 6-12 year olds, but if LEGO was really serious about capturing more of the young female demographic, this set should have been Wonderwoman’s Invisible Jet. We have enough Batman vehicles and LEGO has yet to produce any good looking Mechs. So, double the size of the Jet with a couple more invisible elements, lose the Batman and his ride, and I still would have paid the same price.

Kit Ratings
** Playability: 3 out of 5 bricks. Average playability for the number of bricks and minifigures.

** Minifigures: 5 out of 5 bricks. Really well done in all regards. Take another look at the photo!

** Brick value: 4 out of 5 bricks. I paid $59.99 in our market for the set, which creates a price per brick of $0.17. That’s on the high end, but there are so many great elements in the set that you’ll re-use over and over that we’re bumping the rating into the above average score.

** Overall rating: 12 out of 15 bricks. All in all, this set is worth getting. You get a lot of great superheros, the invisible jet, a rockin’ Banana delivery vehicle, and some great black and grey elements to add to your unsorted LEGO bin that your cousins play with when they come over.

e.c.maccallum

One thought on “LEGO DC Comics Super Heroes Gorilla Grodd Goes Bananas (76026)

Leave a Reply

